Home-cooked Memories

I truly believe that a good meal brings people together. Growing up my family always had home cooked meals and it took the whole family to make it just as much as it took to eat it. My mom would spend all day making homemade pasta and my dad hours perfecting his gravy recipe, filling the house with the delicious scent of the meal we couldn’t wait to consume. One of the most important things to my mom is using fresh and local ingredients, and when the closest farmers market was twenty miles away, my mom decided to bring a market to our hometown. When I was eight my mom started the Louisville Farmers Market and today manages three markets in the towns that surround it. Every Saturday my brother and I would wake up at the crack of dawn and help set up the market, we’d help the vendors put up their tents and follow our mom around like puppies as she told each booth where to set up. We loved it! But what we loved even more was coming home with loads of delicious (and fresh) fruits, veggies, breads and all sorts of other goodies. My mom, even after a long day of work, would come home and make us a homemade dinner, she called them “market meals” because every ingredient was from the farmers market. Food has impacted my life in a huge way and has brought only good memories, not only of my family but of my hometown and my community.

Hannah Williams

Leave a Reply

