What You Eat is Who You Are

At a young age my parents taught me quickly, what to eat and what not to eat. But as I reached the life of a teenager, they began to ease up and let me try new things. Letting me figure out where I stand on the typical food pyramid. What I found was a wonderful tastebud adventure of eating all kinds of tasy foods.

I learned that It’s ok to eat delicious sugary pastries, or have a fast food hamburger once in a while. Now I agree those particular things aren’t the best for you and you shouldn’t eat them all the time. But if you find your own unique food balance, between eating healthy and treating yourself, then by all means eat that triple chocolate cake.

Food is not just locally made, its not just something you get at a restaurant, and its definitely not just grandma’s homemade potatoes, its something much more meaningful. I believe the phrase “you are what you eat” is indeed written backwards. It should read “what you eat is who you are”.

Food has this special way of telling the public who you are as a person, without even telling them. In a way, every time we eat we are unconsciously having a conversation with the people surrounding us. If this world wants to get better at communicating and understanding, then we need to stop talking for a while and just sit together and eat food.

~Jordyn R. M. Battersby

About MadBatty

I have been described as many things. A tom boy, a nerd/ geek, an artist, a wisdom giver, a dreamer, an Otaku (anime and manga lover), and a little bit batty. The story of my past is one that must be told in person. So I'll just tell you that I have two moms, who've been divorced since I was 5. I used to be an F student but now I'm an honor student. And I've had a lot of strange things happen to me in my life. All in all, I am proud of who I am and no one can ever take that away. You can beat me till death but I will never give up. Besides you don't want me haunting your ass. This is my life. This is who I am. What more would you like me to say?

Leave a Reply

