My Life With Food

Food is one of those things in life that I don’t really think about too much, at least, no more than whether or not it tastes good. I was fortunate enough to be tought how to cook proper meals so I wouldn’t starve once I was living on my own. My mom started teaching me how to cook basic meals when I was about ten years old. In my high school years, it was rather advantageous that I knew how to cook because I was home alone more often than not while my parents were at work, though I do still revert back to mac-n-cheese every now and then. One of my favourite things to make is my mom’s recipe for spaghetti — I’ve made it so many times that I don’t even need to look at the directions anymore.

I find that knowing how to cook is actually really nice, because it deters me from eating fast food most of the time. Several years ago, fast food used to be part of my weekly meals, but now I tend not to eat out as much. Actually, I try to eat as much healthy food as I can, and I prefer fresh groceries and produce. I only wish that there had been farmers markets in Las Vegas, but I guess being in a desert makes that a little hard to do. When I moved to Portland, I was very excited because it meant that I would actually be able to eat the way that I want to eat.

 

Kirstin Riley

Leave a Reply

