Transforming My Lifestyle Through Food

“A cheeseburger with ketchup only.”

This was my answer anytime my family went out to eat when I was younger. It didn’t matter where we went. Mexican…Chinese –I despised anything that was green, spicy or looked the least bit strange. Ideally this worked out great. After my parents divorced when I was eight years old, I was forced to grow up much quicker than I wanted. Since a lot of my time was spent at home alone, the only things I really knew how to make were Top Ramen, pancakes and cereal.

When I moved in with my grandparents during my junior year of high school I was introduced to an entirely new realm of foods. I came to discover that I actually did like vegetables and mixed foods, but that I wasn’t ever given the opportunity to try them. Not only that, but whenever I did try them they weren’t ever prepared right; they were heated up in the microwave or prepackaged. I didn’t have a choice as to what I ate when I was younger, but I just ate whatever was convenient.

Being in control of the foods that I put into my body and eating healthy has transformed my lifestyle completely. I now find fascination in exploring different cultures and trying new things. Anytime that I go out to eat, I’m overwhelmed with all of the different options. What once used to take a second, now takes me an eternity at restaurants because I am so eager to branch out. I can’t remember the last time I ordered a cheeseburger with ketchup only. Instead, my order tends to sound a bit more similar to something like this: “I’ll have the grilled vegetable burrito on a whole wheat tortilla with spinach, pinto beans and chicken please…extra spicy.”

About Carly Newberg

I drink coffee to stay awake, run to relieve stress and find my strength in God. I sometimes speak too loudly of the things I'm passionate about, and believe in good morals and modesty. Dark chocolate, vintage clothes, music and cool pens are only a few of the things that make me smile.

Leave a Reply

