Hello Marshmallows

I feel the same emotionally about Hello Kitty snack products as I had prior to this food tracking project. I still find its girliness and artificial aspect appealing, and I will probably continue purchasing Hello Kitty candy whenever I feel like it’s necessary. With my product, Hello Kitty Strawberry Marshmallows, it was not about the food itself, but it was completely about the branding. People wouldn’t want to eat mediocre, nutrition-less clumps of sugar if not for Hello Kitty’s image across it. This was the reason I picked it up in Safeway, not because I was craving bad candy, but because of the bright packaging. I thought it stuck out as one of the most interesting products in the grocery store, because it was imported and kind of obscure. Due to this, I did not have a great time researching the product. Tracking Hello Kitty Strawberry Marshmallows was sort of futile; I didn’t learn much that I didn’t already know. It’s one out of a million factory made Hello Kitty/ marshmallow products that exist out there. There isn’t much history or controversy behind it. As cool as the product seemed, nothing I learned about it particularly stood out. The truth behind Hello Kitty Strawberry Marshmallows are as insubstantial as the product itself, fluffy and without much value to society. I did learn a thing or two about marshmallows themselves; their Egyptian origin and French start into the culinary world. My opinion about Hello Kitty, marshmallows, and this product remains the same: I’m still into the cartoon cat and apathetic about the rest.

*Valerie Wrede*

 

About valerie

my dream job is to be an artist but i also want to live on a vegetable farm once i turn 40.

Leave a Reply

