Researching SPAM

Spam® Original was actually the second product I tried to track; my first product hit a dead end quite soon into the search, which lead me to a bout of frustration and the decision to change products. Researching the history and processes for making Spam was actually quite easy, which is no surprise since it is such a well-known and popular product — I didn’t even have to call or email the company because there was so much information available on the internet. Much of my time was spent on the history of Spam, which stretches back almost eighty years. One of the most interesting facts, to me, was how important Spam became during the Second World War. The canned meat was sent overseas to feed American troops and America’s allies due to its long shelf life and unlikelihood to spoil. Spam did lose much of its popularity after the fighting stopped because most of the soldiers hated Spam after eating for every meal during the war. It was also interesting to see just how much Asian and Pacific Islander nations still enjoy Spam, and also how Spam is celebrated around the nation.

 

Despite the research I did to find out exactly how Spam is made, it has not changed my view on the processed meat — I only ever eat it rarely anyways and I like the taste of it once it has been cooked. I think the only thing that really bothered me during my research process was the fact that there are so many studies out there that say processed foods like Spam could possibly lead to certain forms of cancer, which is a little nerve-wracking.

 

Kirstin R.

Leave a Reply

